Sherman Prize Winner Doggedly Cares for Her Patients

Nestled between mountain passes, Missoula, Mont., is surrounded at a distance by scattered farming towns and two First Nations reserves. People here who need medical care can face treacherous drives through winter storms, white-knuckling their way 300 miles to the town of 72,000—which, despite the vast distance, is home to the hospital nearest them.


Sherman Prize winner discusses integration, cooperation in IBD

In his long career as a gastroenterologist, Stephen R. Targan, MD, has seen many innovations and treatments emerge in his field. But, throughout these changes over 30 years, one guiding principle has remained the same.


Local Researcher Takes Top Honors

Cedars-Sinai’s Stephan R. Targan, MD, a pioneering physician and researcher in gastroenterology, has been awarded the Sherman Prize for groundbreaking work in the understanding and treatment of debilitating inflammatory bowel disease (IBD).


Sherman Prize Recipients Honored in New York City

Screening of Short Documentaries
Shared Recipients’ Stories of Leadership
and Dedication in Advancing Treatment of Crohn’s Disease and Ulcerative Colitis


'Relentless dedication to IBD care' — How 3 GI leaders will use their Sherman Prizes to enhance IBD, Crohn's treatment

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation awarded Sherman Prizes to Stephan Targan, MD, Lee Denson, MD and Heidi Drescher, MMS, PA-C.


Getting Ahead for Sunday

Heidi Drescher, MMS, PA-C, of Community Physician Group at Community Medical Center was honored last week with the Sherman Emerging Leader Prize for her relentless dedication to ensuring her rural, underserved patients benefit from best practices in Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) care.


Cedars-Sinal's Dr. Stephan Targan honored for research, advances in treating Crohn's Disease, Ulcerative Colitis

Stephan R. Targan, MD, director of the Inflammatory Bowel and Immunobiology Research Institute at Cedars-Sinai is one of two recipients of The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Prize. The announcement was made Tuesday in Naples, Florida.


Sherman Prize Announces 2017 Award Recipients

The winners of the second annual Sherman Prizes were announced last week. Established in 2016 by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation, the Sherman Prize “is the first prize of its kind to honor outstanding individuals who go above and beyond to make exceptional contributions in the fight to overcome Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.”


Sherman Prize honors researchers for their work in Crohn’s, UC

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation has announced the 2017 recipients of the Sherman Prize for their research in the treatment of Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.


Sherman Prize, Inspiring Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis, Announces 2017 Award Recipients

Honorees have led trailblazing treatment breakthroughs; Raised pediatric remission rates; and Provided comprehensive care to rural, underserved patients


2017 Sherman Prize Nomination Period Now Closed

The nomination period for the 2017 Sherman Prize is now closed. Nominations will be reviewed by the Prize Selection Committee and the recipients will be announced later this year.


Elisabeth Evans, MSN: Nominate Your Colleagues for The Sherman Prize

The Sherman Prize is a fantastic opportunity for nurses to be recognized. Most of the large prizes for IBD are focused on research. I get that — we’re looking for a cure, but can’t forget about the care. These are substantial prizes and we’re dedicated to recognizing all members of the healthcare team.


Dr. Rubin on the Second Annual Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis

Many ACG members have worked relentlessly to improve the lives of people with IBD, and I encourage you to take this opportunity to shine a light on their work and nominate a colleague for the Sherman Prize.


Eva Szigethy, MD, PhD, Pioneer In Psychosocial Care for IBD Patients

Quality of life, anxiety, depression, work and social stresses were not always concerns that providers thought to address as part of the comprehensive health care of patients with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD).


IYB: Sherman Prize, Green Schoenfeld & Kyle, Metro Forecasting Models, RMC Group, Bonita Springs Utilities

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation announced that online nominations are being accepted for the 2017 Sherman Prize, which honors those who make exceptional and pioneering contributions in research on Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. Nominations will be accepted at through April 30. Self-nominations are not accepted.


Sherman Prize now accepting nominations for achievements in IBD

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation announced that the online nomination period has begun for the second annual Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis.


Drs. David Rubin, Indran Indrakrishnan & more: 8 GI physicians in the headlines

Here are eight gastroenterologists making headlines the week of March 10, 2017. Georgia Governor Nathan Deal, R, presented Indran Indrakrishnan, MD, with an official proclamation declaring March as Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month. The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation selected six practitioners to serve as judges for its 2017 Sherman Prize.


Nominations Sought for Sherman Prize Honoring Bowel Disease Achievements

Nominations for the 2017 Sherman Prize, which will honor exceptional achievements in the fight against Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis (UC), will be accepted through April 30, according to the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation.


Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation opens nominations, names six judges

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation will now accept nominations for its 2017 Sherman Prize. The prize honors individuals who make "exceptional and pioneering" contributions to the fight against Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis.


Nominations for 2017 Sherman Prize Now Being Accepted

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation today announced that online nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Sherman Prize, the first Prize of its kind created to honor outstanding individuals... Read more